Angola: The Facts

  • Angola is a country that is located in the south west of Africa
  • Angola Borders the countries of Namibia, Zambia, and Congo. Angola also borders the Atlantic Ocean off the west coat and with a west coast along the Atlantic Ocean.
  • Angola has plenty of natural resources; the most common being oil and diamonds.
  • The capital city is Luanda, which is also the largest city
  • Official language is Portuguese
  • Total area – 1,246,700 km
  • Population – 10,978,552 (ranked 71 in the world for size)
  • Angola is a former portuguese colony
  • href=”” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener noreferrer”>Angola

    is divided into 18 provinces: 1 Bengo, Benguela, Bia, Cabinda, Cuando Cubango, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uige, Zaire

  • Angola has three main ethnic groups, each speaking a Bantu language: Ovimbundu 37%, Kimbundu 25%, and Bakongo 13%.
  • The great majority of the inhabitants are of Bantu stock with some admixture in the Congo district.
  • In the coast towns the majority of the white inhabitants are Portuguese.
  • The Mushi-Kongo and other divisions of the Ba-Kongo retain curious traces of the Christianity professed by them in the 16th and 17th centuries and possibly later.

Feel free to reprint this article as long as you keep the following caption and author biography in tact with all hyperlinks.

Ryan Fyfe is the owner and operator of

href=”” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener noreferrer”>Pixibot

. Which is a great web directory and information center for information on all types of topics.